Considerations for Closing and Reopening Tasks

Salesforce Classic differs from Lightning Experience and the Salesforce mobile app in the way it handles validation rules on tasks.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic, Lightning Experience, and all versions of the Salesforce mobile app
Available in: All editions
  • Lightning Experience—Suppose that you’ve created a validation rule for tasks; for example, you require users to enter a comment before closing a task. If you’ve set up more than one Closed status for tasks, users must choose a status when they reopen or close a task. If you’ve set up more than one Open status for tasks and a user reopens a task, Lightning Experience remembers the last Open status.
  • Salesforce Classic—Suppose that you’ve created a validation rule for closing a task; for example, you require users to enter a comment. Before users can close a task, they must first open the task detail page and edit the task. Likewise, if you’ve set up more than one Open status for tasks, users must edit the task to choose a status when they reopen a task.