---
schema_version: "1"
id: 81fbfde4f35266300be66b219b5ac112d12a5449952313c11d8e17e25844d40f
title: Considerations for Closing and Reopening Tasks
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/sales/264-0-0/task_validation_considerations.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=sales.task_validation_considerations.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: fa01e61342b4f95d802edbcced1d95d572a014d577ec8f00fae71dbf595ed93b
description: Salesforce Classic differs from Lightning Experience and the Salesforce mobile app in the way it handles validation rules on tasks.
products:
  - Sales Cloud
  - Cross Cloud
  - Service Cloud Voice
release: "264"
---
# Considerations for Closing and Reopening Tasks

Salesforce Classic differs from Lightning Experience and the Salesforce mobile app in the way it handles validation rules on tasks.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: Salesforce Classic, Lightning Experience, and all versions of the Salesforce mobile app</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>All</strong> editions</td></tr></tbody></table>

- Lightning Experience—Suppose that you’ve created a validation rule for tasks; for example, you require users to enter a comment before closing a task. If you’ve set up more than one Closed status for tasks, users must choose a status when they reopen or close a task. If you’ve set up more than one Open status for tasks and a user reopens a task, Lightning Experience remembers the last Open status.
- Salesforce Classic—Suppose that you’ve created a validation rule for closing a task; for example, you require users to enter a comment. Before users can close a task, they must first open the task detail page and edit the task. Likewise, if you’ve set up more than one Open status for tasks, users must edit the task to choose a status when they reopen a task.