Share Notes

Share your notes in Lightning Experience or Salesforce Classic to boost teamwork and keep everyone informed. When you share a note, you control whether others can share or unshare it. Recipients receive an email with a link to the shared note and a message from you. Simultaneous editing of notes isn’t supported to prevent people from overwriting each other’s changes.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic (not available in all orgs), Lightning Experience, and all versions of the Salesforce mobile app
Available in: Group, Essentials, Starter, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions

Share Notes in Lightning Experience

Increase collaboration by sharing your notes with people and groups in Lightning Experience.

Note
Note You can’t share a note in the Salesforce mobile app or from the Notes & Attachments related list in Lightning Experience. When sharing a note in Lightning Experience, you can provide Viewer access only.

Notes doesn’t support simultaneous editing. This restriction prevents multiple people from editing a note at the same time. If multiple people change a note at the same time, they overwrite each other’s changes.

  1. Open a note in the Notes related list.
  2. Click Share.
  3. Select who you’d like to share with.
  4. Enter a short message to the recipients.
  5. To prevent the recipients from sharing or unsharing the note, open the Who Can Access section and click Prevent others from sharing and unsharing.
  6. Click Share.

The people you shared with receive an email with your message and a link to the shared note.

Share Notes in Salesforce Classic

Increase collaboration by sharing your notes with people and groups in Salesforce Classic.

Note
Note Notes doesn’t support simultaneous editing. This restriction prevents multiple people from editing a note at the same time. If multiple people change a note at the same time, they overwrite each other’s changes.
  1. Open a note.
  2. Click Note Sharing Settings and choose Share with people or Share with groups.
  3. Select who you’d like to share with and their level of access.
  4. Enter a short message to the recipients.
  5. To prevent the recipients from sharing or unsharing the note, click Prevent others from sharing and unsharing.
  6. Click Share.

The people you shared with receive an email with your message and a link to the shared note.