Purge Deleted Custom Fields

Custom fields you delete from an object are removed from the object but remain in the system for 15 days until they’re hard deleted automatically by Salesforce. During that time, the deleted custom fields continue to count toward your custom field allocation. When your org reaches 75% of its custom field allocation and it has custom fields that are ready to hard delete, Salesforce displays the Purge button. You can use it to initiate the hard delete process and free up custom field allocation for your org before the hard delete takes place.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic
Available in: Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions
User Permissions Needed
To purge deleted fields:

Customize Application

AND

View All Data

  1. Go to the object's Deleted Fields detail page to find its recently deleted custom fields.
  2. Click Purge to free up custom fields faster than the automated process.
  3. Confirm the purge action when Salesforce prompts you to do so.

    The custom fields that are in the ready for the hard-delete state move to the hard-delete process state. The hard-delete process completely removes the field and the associated system data. If changing the status of the fields takes longer than 30 seconds, Salesforce sends an email with more information to the user who clicked the button.