---
schema_version: "1"
id: 0912bd1d0bc0d1925940a73abb312b92d79af93c9a117d5acc55f8650b8e496a
title: Purge Deleted Custom Fields
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/platform/264-0-0/fields_purge_deleted_fields.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.fields_purge_deleted_fields.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 5d07413610bcfba14e678c60b8e8c163df985b73baa22c0b2625aecd29ca7f5e
description: Custom fields you delete from an object are removed from the object but remain in the system for 15 days until they’re hard deleted automatically by Salesforce. During that time, the deleted custom fields continue to count toward your custom field allocation. When your org reaches 75% of its custom field allocation and it has custom fields that are ready to hard delete, Salesforce displays the Purge button. You can use it to initiate the hard delete process and free up custom field allocation for your org before the hard delete takes place.
products:
  - Salesforce Platform
  - Security
release: "264"
---
# Purge Deleted Custom Fields

Custom fields you delete from an object are removed from the object but remain in the system for 15 days until they’re hard deleted automatically by Salesforce. During that time, the deleted custom fields continue to count toward your custom field allocation. When your org reaches 75% of its custom field allocation and it has custom fields that are ready to hard delete, Salesforce displays the Purge button. You can use it to initiate the hard delete process and free up custom field allocation for your org before the hard delete takes place.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: Salesforce Classic</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>, and <strong>Unlimited</strong> Editions</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d148268e69">User Permissions
              Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d148268e69 ">To purge deleted fields:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d148268e69 ">
              <p>Customize Application</p>
              <p>AND</p>
              <p style="margin-bottom:0;">View All Data</p>
            </td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

1. Go to the object's Deleted Fields detail page to find its recently deleted custom fields.
2. Click **Purge** to free up custom fields faster than the automated process.
3. Confirm the purge action when Salesforce prompts you to do so.
    
    The custom fields that are in the ready for the hard-delete state move to the hard-delete process state. The hard-delete process completely removes the field and the associated system data. If changing the status of the fields takes longer than 30 seconds, Salesforce sends an email with more information to the user who clicked the button.

#### See Also

- [Manage Deleted Custom Fields](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.fields_managing_deleted_fields.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Deleted custom fields and their data are stored until your org permanently deletes them or 15 days have elapsed, whichever happens first. Until that time, you can restore the field and its data.")