Deleting a group permanently deletes all group updates, including feed posts and any
links that were posted to the group. To delete a group, you must be the group owner or a user
with the Modify All Data permission. Group managers can’t delete a
group.
Required Editions
| Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience |
| Available in: Group, Essentials, Professional,
Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and
Contact Manager Editions
|
In Lightning Experience, delete a group by clicking Delete Group from
the buttons in the group highlights panel.
In Salesforce Classic:
-
On a group detail page, click Group Settings.
-
Click Delete.
-
Click OK.
When you delete a group that includes files, you're not deleting the files, just references
to them. The files remain in their original location. For example, you can see the files that
you own by applying the Owned by Me filter on Files home. If files were
posted to the group and not shared in other locations, deleting the group also removes the
references to the files. The files remain in the file owner's Owned by
Me filter on Files home, where the files are private but can be shared again
later.