---
schema_version: "1"
id: 5d50abd33b07312bd2db0b8a93069e51348022ea1fbc4ea6dfc430e1caf64567
title: Delete Chatter Groups
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/experience/264-0-0/collab_group_deleting.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.collab_group_deleting.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: d2dcfb4ed53ffcdc9e4d2aed8eff049736185ebb1f1c294c6cc67cff53a49b57
description: Deleting a group permanently deletes all group updates, including feed posts and any links that were posted to the group. To delete a group, you must be the group owner or a user with the Modify All Data permission. Group managers can’t delete a group.
products:
  - Experiences
release: "264"
---
# Delete Chatter Groups

Deleting a group permanently deletes all group updates, including feed posts and any links that were posted to the group. To delete a group, you must be the group owner or a user with the Modify All Data permission. Group managers can’t delete a group.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col style="width:100%"></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>Group</strong>, <strong>Essentials</strong>, <strong>Professional</strong>, <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>, <strong>Unlimited</strong>, <strong>Developer</strong>, and <strong>Contact Manager</strong> Editions</td></tr></tbody></table>

![Tip](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-experience-collaboration-264-0-0-production-enus/1aab5b5e-c990-4b8c-840a-6fb18af49709/images/icon_tip.png)

Tip To retain group data for future reference, [archive groups](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.collab_group_archiving.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Archive a group manually, or edit automatic archiving settings.") instead of deleting them.

In Lightning Experience, delete a group by clicking **Delete Group** from the buttons in the group highlights panel.

In Salesforce Classic:

1. On a group detail page, click **Group Settings**.
2. Click **Delete**.
3. Click **OK**.

When you delete a group that includes files, you're not deleting the files, just references to them. The files remain in their original location. For example, you can see the files that you own by applying the **Owned by Me** filter on Files home. If files were posted to the group and not shared in other locations, deleting the group also removes the references to the files. The files remain in the file owner's **Owned by Me** filter on Files home, where the files are private but can be shared again later.

#### See Also

- [Archive Chatter Groups](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.collab_group_archiving.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Archive a group manually, or edit automatic archiving settings.")
- [View Where a File Is Shared](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.collab_files_shared_with.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Find out who can see a file and their level of access. From the File Detail page, you can access a full list of every person or object the file is shared with.")