Enable Salesforce to Salesforce

From Salesforce to Salesforce Settings in Setup, you can easily enable Salesforce to Salesforce. After enabling Salesforce to Salesforce, you can’t disable it. However, you can control which data you share and with whom you share it.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic
Available in: Contact Manager, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
To enable Salesforce to Salesforce: Modify All Data
Important
Important Salesforce to Salesforce is scheduled for retirement as of Spring ’27. See Salesforce to Salesforce Retirement.
Note
Note Switch to Salesforce Classic before enabling Salesforce to Salesforce. If you’re using Lightning Experience, click your profile picture and select Switch to Salesforce Classic.
  1. From Setup, enter Salesforce to Salesforce Settings in the Quick Find box, then select Salesforce to Salesforce Settings.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Select Enable.
  4. Click Save.

You’re responsible for ensuring that appropriate contractual or other legal arrangements are in place between you and your connected organizations. By enabling Salesforce to Salesforce, you agree to allow Salesforce to process updates to information in your organization that is shared with other organizations.

When you enable Salesforce to Salesforce, a new user named “Connection User” is created. This user doesn’t count towards the number of used licenses for your organization, and isn’t included in any user management view. When your business partner updates a shared record, the Last Modified By field on the record in your organization displays Connection User, allowing you to easily track all changes made by your business partners. The Connection User is automatically assigned to the Partner Network profile. The Partner Network profile can’t be modified and isn’t included in any profile management view.