Copy and Overwrite a Site

Export a copy of your site, and then use the overwrite feature to replace your current production Site.com or Site.com community site with the exported file.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic

Available for purchase in: Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions

Available (with limitations) in: Developer Edition

User Permissions Needed
To overwrite sites:

Site administrator or designer role assigned at the site level

First, export a copy of your site from your Site.com Studio. Next, import the exported .site file into production using the overwrite feature. Overwrite replaces your production site with the imported site. You can only overwrite sites that are the same type. For example, you can't overwrite a Site.com site with a Site.com community site.

Note
Note We recommend only overwriting Aura sites, and only using Aura .site files to do so. To replace a Build Your Own (LWR) site with an Aura .site file, or to replace any site using a Build Your Own (LWR) .site file, import the .site file to a new site instead.
  1. Create your .site file using the export feature in Site.com Studio.
  2. From Site.com Studio in your production site, click Site Actions | Overwrite This Site. Alternatively, if you have access to the Site.com tab, you can click Arrow Menu in Site.com next to the site name to find Overwrite.
  3. Click Browse to find and select the .site file you exported.
  4. Click OK at the overwrite warning.
    Warning
    Warning You can't revert after you overwrite a site.

Here are a few tips when using overwrite:

  • You must publish the site you overwrote for changes to take effect.
  • When copying a site, the production site is overwritten. Be sure to back up your production site by exporting a .site file before you overwrite.
  • Overwrite doesn’t copy data changes. For example, if you created a custom object to use in a repeater in the site that you’re copying from, the repeater doesn’t work in the production site until you create the same custom object.
  • If the production site has assets that don’t exist in the site that you’re copying from, they’re moved to the trash can during the overwrite process so you can restore them if needed.
  • If your copied site has a different name than your production site, the production name is preserved and only the contents are changed. For example, if your site is called Site One and you overwrite your production site called Site Two, the production site is still called Site Two.