Getting Started with Anonymize for ServiceNow

Manage anonymization templates and apply them to ServiceNow data using Salesforce's Anonymize application. Use the application to anonymize ServiceNow data in seeding jobs to make sure that sensitive information is protected.

Manage Anonymization Templates

You can:

  • Create and configure - create anonymization templates and configure them by choosing the tables and their columns that you want to anonymize. Based on column type, a variety of replacement options for anonymizing the column data are available to select. Upon creation, anonymization templates are listed in the UI's Anonymize, Templates tab (the application's template library)
  • Edit – modify the content of anonymization templates.
  • Clone – produce a copy (a clone) of anonymization templates.
  • Delete – delete anonymization templates. This removes them from the UI's Anonymize, Templates tab.
  • Export – download anonymization templates to your local machine.

Anonymize Data as Part of a Seeding Job

As part of a seeding job, you can first anonymize the data of the service that is defined as the Template Source in the seeding template. This gives you the ability to anonymize the seeding source data - personally identifiable information (PII), sensitive information, classified information - before that data is copied to (seeded in) the destination. The ServiceNow data source can be: a Production Instance, a Sub-Prod Instance, or a Personal Developer Instance (PDI)

Anonymize Application User Interface

For customers who have purchased Own’s Anonymize application and the Recover product:

  • The Anonymize application displays a list of your available services. The list always includes all services except for services that are in deleted status.
  • Access the Backup tab to view the list of your services.

For customers who have purchased Own’s Anonymize application but haven't purchased the Recover product:

  • When the Anonymize application displays a list of your available services, that list always includes all services except for services that are in deleted status.
  • Access the Services tab to view the list of your services.