Navigating the Templates Tab

The Templates tab under the Seeding tab presents a listing of previously created, available templates with template-related information. You can clone and delete templates provided they aren’t being edited by another user.

Click the tile view icon or the list view icon in the upper right corner of the Templates tab, to change how this list of templates is displayed.

  • Tile View
  • List View

Tile View

In tile view, each template appears in a separate tile and presents template-specific information. Click the Sort templates button to open a drop-down menu of information options. Then select an information option by which to sort the template tiles. Also, you can select from the drop-down menu the Reverse order option to simply reverse the (ascending/descending) order of the current sort of template tiles.

Tile view

List View

In list view, each template appears in a separate row and presents template-specific information in columns. Click on a column heading to sort the template entries (ascending/descending) by that column.

List view

Template Listing Information

The listing presents specific information, per template entry:

  • Edit status shows if the template is being edited by you (pencil icon) or being edited by another user (lock icon). If this entry is blank, it means that the template is not being edited by anyone.
  • Star - identifies whether the template is designated as a favorite (the orange star icon) or this entry is blank
  • Type - an icon that identifies the template's type, either the Nodes template icon or the Levels template icon.
  • Name - the name of the template and, if provided, a description that appears underneath the name
  • Source - an icon that identifies the Source service's type and the Source service's name
  • Latest Seed - the date (month day, year, time AM/PM) that the template was last used in a seeding job; or two dashes (- -) indicating that the template has not yet been used in a seeding job. When viewing the listing of templates in tile view format, Latest Seed information isn't provided in template tiles

By default, templates are alphabetically sorted by name. However, you can sort the templates by any single, specific piece of information.

Locked Template

The lock icon identifies that another user is editing the template. You can't edit a template while another user is editing it. However, you can use the published version of the template to run seeding jobs and to export the template objects/tables hierarchy.

When viewing a locked seeding template in the Template Builder tab, users assigned the Master Admin role can use the Make me editor link.

Master Admin users can access the link by hovering their cursor over the lock icon. This expands and shows a message about the template being locked for edit, followed by the Make me editor link.

Clicking Make me editor changes the seeding template's display to show the latest version, keeps the template in Edit mode, and assigns the Master Admin user as the current editor. This user can then change the template and also publish the template.

Cloning a Template

The Clone option provides you with the ability to instantaneously create a new, identical copy of an existing template. Cloning templates is useful for addressing any of the following use cases:

  • Creating copies of existing templates for backup. For example, you want to save your template locally, as a backup, on your machine
  • You want to make changes to a template. You apply the updates to a clone of the template, without affecting the original template's content

To clone a template in the template entry that you want to clone, click the three dots menu and select the Clone option. If the Clone option doesn't appear in the menu, contact your administrator to assign you the required permission. The Template Builder tab appears displaying the newly cloned template that contains the identical object hierarchy as the original template from which it was copied. The newly cloned template is in Edit mode, meaning that it is locked so that only you can edit it.

Deleting a Template

To delete a template in the template entry that you want to delete, click the three dots menu and select the Delete option. If the Delete option doesn't appear in the menu, contact your administrator to assign you the required permission. The Delete Template dialog is displayed. Click Yes to delete.