Deactivate, reactivate, or remove a value from a restricted or unrestricted custom picklist. If it’s a global picklist value set, these actions simultaneously update all custom picklists that inherit its value set.
Required Editions
| Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience |
| Available in: All Editions |
| User Permissions Needed | |
|---|---|
| To create or change custom fields: | Customize Application |
Only a Salesforce admin can modify the values of a restricted picklist. Users can’t add unapproved values, even through the API.
-
Go to the picklist you want to modify.
- For a picklist on an object, go to the fields section of the object.
- For a global picklist, from Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter picklist, then select Picklist Value Sets.
- Go to the picklist’s detail page by clicking the picklist’s name.
-
In the Values section, modify the picklist value. These actions simultaneously update
all custom picklists that inherit its value set.
- To deactivate a value, which removes it from the picklist but keeps it on existing records, click Deactivate next to the value’s name. The value moves to the Inactive Values section. If you need the value again later, click Activate next to its name.
- To remove a value from the picklist and all records that use it, click Del next to the value’s name, and select Replace value on records with blank value. Then save the changes.
- To remove a value from a global picklist and any custom picklists that share its value set, click Del next to the value’s name, and then click OK. If any custom picklists use this global picklist value set, you’re prompted to replace the value with a blank value or an existing, active value. If no custom picklists use the value set, the value is deleted from the global picklist.
Keep these considerations in mind when you deactivate, reactivate, or delete a picklist value.
-
The unrestricted picklist values for the
Task.SubjectandEvent.Subjectfields can’t be deactivated. The picklist values are deleted instead of deactivated. - If a global picklist value is used in historical trending, it’s deactivated but not deleted.
- Deleting a value in a global picklist value set or on non-global, restricted picklists goes to the background jobs queue. When the job completes, your picklist is updated and you’re notified by email.
- Changes to picklist values are logged in Setup Audit Trail. To view the audit history, from Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter View Setup Audit Trail, then select View Setup Audit Trail.
- Using the option to replace a picklist value while deleting the current value doesn’t trigger workflow rules.