When a workflow starts, it pins itself to the blueprint version that was current at the time. Learn how version locking affects running workflows when updating a blueprint in Agentforce Operations.
Required Editions
| License Required |
|---|
|
This feature is a workspace that’s external to your Salesforce org and requires an Agentforce Operations license. To purchase an Agentforce Operations license, contact your Salesforce account executive. |
Overview
A running workflow is pinned to the blueprint version that it started with. When you publish a new version of a blueprint, the new version only affects workflows created after the new version is published. Active workflows continue to follow the logic of the version they started under.
Version locking protects in-flight work. If you update a blueprint mid-process, you don't disrupt workflows that are already running.
How Version Locking Works
- Running workflows
- Continue using the blueprint version that was current when the workflow started, even if you publish a newer version later.
- New workflows
- Use the latest published version of the blueprint.
- Linked workflows
-
When a parent workflow creates a child workflow, the child workflow locks to the version of the child blueprint that was current at that point. Later updates to the child blueprint don't affect the child workflow.