Automatically Merge and Delete Prospects

You can control how Account Engagement treats prospects when records are merged or deleted in Salesforce. Merging and deleting prospects operates differently in each system.

Note
Note The setting for automatically deleting or merging prospects isn’t available in business units that allow multiple prospects with the same email address.
  1. In Account Engagement Settings, select Connectors.
  2. For the Salesforce.com connector, under Actions, select Edit Settings.
  3. Select Automatically delete or merge prospects if the corresponding records in Salesforce are deleted or merged.

Delete Scenarios

In Salesforce In Account Engagement
The a@a.com record is deleted. The a@a.com prospect is archived.
The a@a.com record is undeleted. The a@a.com prospect is unarchived

Merge Scenarios

In Salesforce In Account Engagement
a@a.com is merged with b@b.com. a@a.com is the primary source, and b@b.com is deleted. Both a@a.com and b@b.com records exist in Account Engagement. a@a.com becomes the primary source. All the b@b.com record’s activities, tags, lists, and Salesforce campaigns are copied to the a@a.com prospect record. The b@b prospect record is sent to the Recycle Bin and flagged as [[crm_deleted]]
a@a.com is merged with b@b.com. a@a.com is the primary source, and b@b.com is deleted. Only b@b.com exists in Account Engagement. The prospect’s email is updated to a@a.com, and the CRM ID and View in CRM link are updated to reflect the new primary record in Salesforce. During the next sync cycle, all fields from the primary record in Salesforce sync down to the updated prospect record in Account Engagement.
a@a.com is merged with b@b.com. a@a.com is the primary source, but retains the b@b.com email address. Only b@b.com exists in Account Engagement. The prospect’s CRM ID and View in CRM link are updated to point to the new primary record in Salesforce. During the next sync cycle, all fields from the primary record in Salesforce sync down to the updated prospect records.
a@a.com is merged with b@b.com. a@a.com is the primary source, and b@b.com is deleted. Only a@a.com exists in Account Engagement. Nothing happens.