Delete Topics

People with the right permissions can delete topics directly from topic detail pages.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Available in: Group, Essentials, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and Contact Manager Editions
User Permissions Needed
To delete standard topics:

Modify All Data

OR

Delete Topics

To delete topics that are also used as navigational, featured, or content topics in a site:

Create and Set Up Experiences

OR

Manage Experiences

Because topic names and descriptions aren't private, administrators can delete topics for compliance reasons or to remove inappropriate content. When deleting topics, consider these points.

  • Topics are permanently deleted. They aren’t sent to the Recycle Bin.
  • Deleted topics are removed from search results, the topics list, all posts and records, Recently Talked About topics, Related Topics, and your users’ favorites. After the next calculation, deleted topics are removed from Trending Topics.
  • Users can reintroduce a topic after it’s been deleted.

To delete a topic:

  1. Navigate to the topic detail page.
  2. In the upper right, click Delete (Lightning Experience) or Topic Options drop-down menu and choose Delete (Salesforce Classic).

In Experience Cloud sites, delete topics from Workspaces | Content Management | Topics. After the topics are deleted, they’re no longer assigned in your site.