Create and Manage Chatter Groups

Create a Chatter group for your team or a project, add members, and update group settings.

Note
Note Beginning in Summer ’26, Chatter is turned off by default in all new orgs. For any features in these orgs that require access to Chatter functionality or the Chatter APIs, turn on Chatter by going to Setup | Chatter Settings and selecting Enable. For details, see Chatter Is Turned Off by Default in New Orgs Beginning in Summer ’26.
  • Create Chatter Groups
    Create public, private, and unlisted Chatter groups to collaborate with your teams and work together on projects.
  • Change the Owner of a Chatter Group
    To change a Chatter group’s owner, edit group settings. Only the current group owner and people with the Modify All Data permission can change the owner.
  • Customize Chatter Groups
    Use record types to create group types with the layout and branding that you want. Then you can create custom groups.
  • Change the Access Level of a Chatter Group
    Edit a Chatter group’s settings to change its access level. For example, you open up an unlisted group to a wider audience by converting it to a private or public group. You can edit the settings for Chatter groups that you own or manage.
  • Add and Remove Chatter Group Members
    Own or manage a Chatter group? Here’s how you add or remove group members.
  • Accept or Decline Private Group Requests
    As the owner or manager of a private Chatter group, you can accept or decline requests to join the group.
  • What Your Chatter Group Role Lets You Do
    The actions that you can perform in a Chatter group depend on whether you’re a member, owner, or manager of the group.
  • Archived Chatter Groups
    When a Chatter group is archived, group members can’t post content or share files with the group. Previous posts, comments, and files remain available.
  • Delete Chatter Groups
    Deleting a group permanently deletes all group updates, including feed posts and any links that were posted to the group. To delete a group, you must be the group owner or a user with the Modify All Data permission. Group managers can’t delete a group.