When you delete a file from Salesforce Files, it’s also removed from all locations where it was shared.
Required Editions
| Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience |
| Available in: Group, Essentials, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and Contact Manager Editions |
| User Permissions Needed | |
|---|---|
| To delete a file: |
File owner OR Delete Salesforce Files |
| To delete a file that isn't associated with another file or object: |
File owner OR Modify All Data |
If the file is contained in a library, only the file owner or a user with delete permission in the library can delete the file. The Library Administrator is an example of someone with delete permission in a library.
- In Lightning Experience, from the App Launcher, open Files.
- Find the file that you want to delete and open its row-level actions dropdown.
-
Click Delete and confirm your changes.
If the file was shared via a link, anyone with the link no longer has access to the file.
You can restore the file and all the shares that were associated with it by removing it from the Recycle Bin.