---
schema_version: "1"
id: 21c1061127584e9869d83881e65a4e59c9fc3eb7f192f357937f47af769a5444
title: Delete Groups
collection: tableau
version: next
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/next/en-us/server/groups_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/server/en-us/groups_delete.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: fe82dc4a5f42f22e9e33da4eb371c46401cf84c77f3be9e896b638a5bf39558e
description: Delete groups on a Tableau site and understand the effects on users.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Delete Groups

You can delete any group from the server with the exception of the All Users group. When you delete a group, the users are removed from the group but they are not deleted from the server.

1. Sign in to Tableau Server site as an administrator.
2. From the left navigation pane, click Groups.
3. On the Groups page, select one or more groups to delete.
4. Select Actions \> Delete.
    
    ![Groups page showing two groups selected and the Delete Group action highlighted.](/tableau/next/en-us/server/en-us/Img/groups6.png)

## Effects of deleting groups

### Groups in group sets

Beginning in Tableau Server 2024.2), groups can be added to group sets. When content permissions are dependent on a group set, content capabilities are evaluated when users belong to all groups in the group set. If a group that belongs to a group set is deleted then it can change user access to Tableau content when content permissions are dependent on the group set.