---
schema_version: "1"
id: 5dda590d3c62206a7151659d6aeb60f4ab9a84cd652c6f51e27ada62ebedbdbd
title: Delete Groups
collection: tableau
version: next
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/next/en-us/server-linux/groups_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/server-linux/en-us/groups_delete.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 9d9af09b5664bbb43fc8d36f43f0e8e81927b859efe40dc1c8c7dcb151f94c7e
description: Delete groups on a Tableau site and understand the effects on users.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Delete Groups

You can delete any group from the server with the exception of the All Users group. When you delete a group, the users are removed from the group but they are not deleted from the server.

1. Sign in to Tableau Server site as an administrator.
2. From the left navigation pane, click Groups.
3. On the Groups page, select one or more groups to delete.
4. Select Actions \> Delete.
    
    ![Groups page showing two groups selected and the Delete Group action highlighted.](/tableau/next/en-us/server-linux/en-us/Img/groups6.png)

## Effects of deleting groups

### Groups in group sets

Beginning in Tableau Server 2024.2), groups can be added to group sets. When content permissions are dependent on a group set, content capabilities are evaluated when users belong to all groups in the group set. If a group that belongs to a group set is deleted then it can change user access to Tableau content when content permissions are dependent on the group set.