---
schema_version: "1"
id: 16a970c551b29d91cf7201f46dc21cd57607e4252dbd4654424d641c1b1cbd1f
title: Manage User Visibility
collection: tableau
version: next
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/next/en-us/online/user_visibility.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/online/en-us/user_visibility.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 51fef5f86b10b7c7ecf1149d49cd05bb81e6180dcd79a41823b3fe26eee10489
description: Hide user and group names for users with Viewer and Explorer site roles on Tableau Cloud and Tableau Server.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Manage Site User Visibility

By default, all site users can see aliases, project ownership and comments by other users when permissions allow. The User Visibility setting lets administrators manage if users with Viewer and Explorer site roles see other users and groups on the site, which can be important for sites that are used by multiple clients. To learn more about site roles, see [Set Users’ Site Roles](https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/online/en-us/users_site_roles.htm).

## Limit user visibility

Setting User Visibility to **Limited** impacts certain collaboration tools and hides user information in Tableau Cloud and Tableau Server. Limited User Visibility either disables the feature for Viewers and Explorers (excluding Site Administrator Explorers), or removes user information from other areas. Note that Creators and administrators will still see user information when User Visibility is set to Limited.

To limit user visibility for Explorers and Viewers (excluding Site Administrator Explorers):

- Navigate to the site's Settings page
- Select Limited in the User Visibility setting

The following is a list of site areas impacted when User Visibility is set to Limited. Unless noted that the feature is disabled for all users, only non-administrator Explorers or Viewers are impacted.

<table style="width: 100%;" class="table--plain">
                    <colgroup><col>
                    <col>
                    </colgroup><tbody>
                        <tr>
                            <td style="font-weight: bold;">Area</td>
                            <td style="font-weight: bold;">Impact</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Search</td>
                            <td>
User information not displayed

</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Content owners</td>
                            <td> 

User information not displayed (Explorers and Viewers can't see themselves, but can see their content in My Content) 

</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Profile pictures </td>
                            <td>User information not displayed</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Subscriptions</td>
                            <td>
                                <p>User information not displayed</p>
                                <p>&nbsp;</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Recommendations</td>
                            <td>Similar users not displayed (all users)</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Add/Edit Tags</td>
                            <td>Explorers and Viewers can see tags but cannot delete or modify them </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>"Who has seen this view?"</td>
                            <td>Disabled</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Ask Data usage analytics</td>
                            <td>Disabled</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Permissions dialogs</td>
                            <td>Disabled </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Named sharing</td>
                            <td>Disabled (all users)</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Alerts </td>
                            <td>
                                <p>Disabled (all users)</p>
                                <p>Existing alerts paused</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Comments </td>
                            <td>Disabled (all users)</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Public Custom Views </td>
                            <td>
                                <p>Disabled (all users)</p>
                                <p>Existing public custom views appear as private</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Request Access</td>
                            <td>Disabled (all users)</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td><span class="mc-variable Variables.TabsProductDesktop variable">Tableau Desktop</span>
                            </td>
                            <td>
                                <p>Publishing workbooks disabled from Desktop</p>
                                <p>User information not displayed on user filters</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Tableau Pulse</td>
                            <td>The  button to see and manage followers doesn't appear on metrics</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr>
                            <td>Tableau Catalog (with <span class="mc-variable Variables.DM_sku variable">Data Management</span>)</td>
                            <td>
                                <p>User information not displayed</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                    </tbody>
                </table>

When User Visibility is set to Limited, Tableau Server REST API and Metadata API calls behave as described in the table above. It remains possible to make API calls that reference a known user ID.

Users on a site can interact with views and modify them, such as applying filters. If that user shares their modified view with others, or if the user creates something from that modified view (like a metric or a private custom view), then that user's name appears in the URL. Make sure that the URL for this modified view is only distributed to users who are permitted to see that person's name.

**Note**: If a user is a member of multiple sites, entering an email on the sign in page for Tableau Cloud will return the names of all sites the user is a member of.

### Best practices for limiting user visibility

Administrators can also check that user and group information is not visible in these ways:

- Configure permissions to only provide content to appropriate parties. For more information, see [Permissions](https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/online/en-us/permissions.htm).
    - Limited User Visibility hides user identification information from search, but might return content that the user published, including when searching by owner name, if the person searching has viewing permission to that content.
    - A user publishing a workbook with a duplicate title in the same project might see a warning that a workbook with that title already exists.
- Apply row-level security when necessary.
- Check that metadata within dashboards does not contain user information.
- Check that calculations accessible to users don't contain user metadata (e.g., user filters).

## Restore Full User Visibility

When administrators set User Visibility back to Full, features disabled for all users by Limited User Visibility (such as comments and alerts) remain off. Administrators can re-enable these features through the site's Settings page.

Any previous feature settings are not retained when User Visibility is set to Full, and affected features are not automatically turned on.