---
schema_version: "1"
id: df30b868b04a44b36e78a7fbacded5346616527fa636d8b1fa5565aea62a0c67
title: Enable Support Access
collection: tableau
version: next
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/next/en-us/online/enable_support_access.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/v0.0/online/en-us/enable_support_access.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 68bf1884851049355d002d6d8d8592be2ba351d83f92acee882bf0f9a2a03919
description: Enable or disable Tableau Support access to your Tableau Cloud site for troubleshooting.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Enable Support Access

Tableau Cloud administrators can allow approved Tableau Support technicians to access their Tableau Cloud site to help troubleshoot a customer support case. By default, this feature is disabled for all sites. Enable the feature to allow support access.

1. In a web browser, sign in to Tableau Cloud as a site administrator and go to the site in which you want to enable support access.
2. From the navigation panel, click Settings.
3. Under Tableau Support Access, select **Let Tableau Support access your site**.
4. Click Save.

When enabled, Tableau Support technicians are assigned the **Support User** role and granted administrator-level access to your site and its content. Tableau Support technicians use this access to gather information to diagnose and reproduce issues. Tableau Support technicians do not make changes to your site unless you authorize them to do so.

Only Tableau Support technicians can be assigned the Support User role. You cannot add this role to new or existing site users. Users assigned the Support User role do not count against the site's user limit. To view users who have the Support User role on the site, click the **Users** tab.

## Disable Support Access

When you disable support access, users with the Support User role who are signed on to the site are automatically signed out. If you do not disable support access, any users with the Support User role are required to delete themselves before a maximum of 16 days elapse. Any content owned by the Support User will be reassigned to the longest-tenured site administrator.