---
schema_version: "1"
id: 75f5eabc050ffeb0dc4bf147ad5e259dc17d014d7517698d8bce2c408a342d39
title: Close Data Sources
collection: tableau
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/current/en-us/pro/desktop/close_connection.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/current/pro/desktop/en-us/close_connection.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 30e44ee2ab1939beed665a417af709ff72b1bd472355efdd648866d1f16b7ee7
description: Understand how closing a data source disconnects Tableau without modifying the data.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Close Data Sources

You can close a data source at any time. Doing so does not modify the data source. Instead, it disconnects Tableau from the data so that you can no longer query it. Additionally, the data source is cleared from the Data pane and all open worksheets associated with the data source are cleared. If you accidentally close a data source, use the Undo button to reopen it. Close a data source by doing one of the following:

- Right-click (control-click on a Mac) the data source at the top of the Data pane and select Close.
    
    ![The Close menu option on the Edit Data Source dropdown menu.](/tableau/current/en-us/pro/desktop/en-us/Img/close_connection1.png)
- Select a data source on the Data menu and then select Close.
    
    ![The Close menu option for a data source on the Data dropdown menu.](/tableau/current/en-us/pro/desktop/en-us/Img/close_connection2.png)

**Note:** When authoring on the web, the data source cannot be used by any worksheets for you to be able to close the data source.