---
schema_version: "1"
id: 23fa46aae074687b46ef4cd0a992b55690a0a26036d46e4eec7aa47065180b88
title: Delete Groups
collection: tableau
version: current
locale: en-gb
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/current/en-gb/server/groups_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/current/server/en-gb/groups_delete.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: df307aba7c7df75c1f43385ebe0d74994b32ac8f07a359c93a275e71ca01ce97
description: Delete groups on a Tableau site and understand the effects on users.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Delete Groups

You can delete any group from the server with the exception of the All Users group. When you delete a group, the users are removed from the group but they are not deleted from the server.

1. Sign in to Tableau Server site as an administrator.
2. From the left navigation pane, click Groups.
3. On the Groups page, select one or more groups to delete.
4. Select Actions \> Delete.
    
    ![Groups page showing two groups selected and the Delete Group action highlighted.](/tableau/current/en-gb/server/en-gb/Img/groups6.png)

## Effects of deleting groups

### Groups in group sets

Beginning in Tableau Server 2024.2), groups can be added to group sets. When content permissions are dependent on a group set, content capabilities are evaluated when users belong to all groups in the group set. If a group that belongs to a group set is deleted, then it can change user access to Tableau content when content permissions are dependent on the group set.