---
schema_version: "1"
id: 7267496394ccc86e6c952b5efc74529eb49bd88c5ed8b3c411470e075883dcfc
title: Delete Groups
collection: tableau
version: current
locale: en-gb
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/tableau/current/en-gb/server-linux/groups_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.tableau.com/current/server-linux/en-gb/groups_delete.htm
source_site: help.tableau.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 603e524b87d13cb8e8612fa0b454725e8c714a4af9df2ccc3b3658eeb504198d
description: Delete groups on a Tableau site and understand the effects on users.
---
[Skip to main content](#main-content)

# Delete Groups

You can delete any group from the server with the exception of the All Users group. When you delete a group, the users are removed from the group but they are not deleted from the server.

1. Sign in to Tableau Server site as an administrator.
2. From the left navigation pane, click Groups.
3. On the Groups page, select one or more groups to delete.
4. Select Actions \> Delete.
    
    ![Groups page showing two groups selected and the Delete Group action highlighted.](/tableau/current/en-gb/server-linux/en-gb/Img/groups6.png)

## Effects of deleting groups

### Groups in group sets

Beginning in Tableau Server 2024.2), groups can be added to group sets. When content permissions are dependent on a group set, content capabilities are evaluated when users belong to all groups in the group set. If a group that belongs to a group set is deleted, then it can change user access to Tableau content when content permissions are dependent on the group set.