---
schema_version: "1"
id: 5f585005f01a1c0dfa48455a99170e15f994680d92cfdaa5be857ca27facdcf8
title: Importing Projects into Anypoint Code Builder
collection: mulesoft
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/mulesoft/current/en-us/anypoint-code-builder/int-import-mule-project.md
canonical_url: https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-import-mule-project
source_site: docs.mulesoft.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: e6dd68d796cceefdecad9d81d496b4ea9924d961db6707b6b4100b1f95eb7216
description: MuleSoft Documentation Site
latest: true
---
---
product: Anypoint Code Builder
version: master
---

# Importing Projects into Anypoint Code Builder

> For the full documentation index, see: https://docs.mulesoft.com/llms.txt

Import a project JAR file or folder into a workspace. A project directory contains a Mule
application for an integration or implementation.

You can also import a Maven multi-module project and apply the properties, dependencies, and
versions from a Maven parent POM file to the `pom.xml` file of each child module. For more
information about the Maven parent POM file, see
[Maven Project Parent POM](https://maven.apache.org/pom/maven/index.html).

If you encounter an import issue, check for workarounds in
[Known Issues](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/acb-release-notes#import-issues) in the Anypoint Code Builder Release Notes or in
[Troubleshooting](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/troubleshooting).

To _export_ a JAR file that packages a project with resources from your application, see
[Exporting Mule Projects](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-export-mule-project).

## Before You Begin

- [Set up and access Anypoint Code Builder](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/start-acb).

- Close any open project.

  Show me how

  - Select **File** > **Close Folder**.

  > [!IMPORTANT] Never open or unpack a project folder within another project folder.

## Import and Open a Project in Anypoint Code Builder

Use Anypoint Code Builder to upload a project directory or shareable JAR file into a project
workspace.

- [Import a Shareable Project JAR File into Anypoint Code Builder](#desktop-project-package)

- [Import a Project Folder into Anypoint Code Builder](#desktop-project-folder)

- [Open a Project Folder](#both-open-project-folder)

### Import a Shareable Project JAR File into Anypoint Code Builder

Import a shareable JAR file for a snapshot of a Mule project into Anypoint Code Builder.

To create a shareable JAR, see [Export Mule Project](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-export-mule-project#export-mule-project).
The contents are lightweight because they don’t include dependencies. Anypoint Code Builder
generates the dependencies configured in the `pom.xml` for the project.

To import a shareable JAR file in Anypoint Code Builder:

1.  Ensure that no project is open.

2.  Open the Command Palette.

    Show me how

    - Use the keyboard shortcuts:

      - Mac: Cmd+Shift+p

      - Windows: Ctrl+Shift+p

    - Select **View** > **Command Palette**.

3.  Provide the following command:

    ```command
    MuleSoft: Import a Mule Project
    ```

4.  Navigate to the shareable JAR file to import, and click **Select jar file to import**.

5.  Navigate to a folder to which to unpack the JAR file, such as your home directory or any folder
    _outside_ of a Mule project folder.

6.  Click **Select project folder**.

    Anypoint Code Builder unpacks the shareable JAR file for your project into the selected folder.

7.  If your Mule project folder is closed, [open a workspace](#both-open-project-folder) for the
    project at the project’s _root_ directory.

    In addition to loading the graphical canvas, Anypoint Code Builder also loads dependencies
    defined in the `pom.xml` for the project. If a Mule runtime or Java configuration is missing,
    set the versions to use from the canvas.

    Libraries load to the `target/repositories` directory within the project folder.

8.  Test your project:

    1.  In the open project, check for errors and make sure that the canvas and code editor load
        correctly, which indicates that component dependencies resolved.

    2.  Check for any configurations to modify, such as ports or file paths in the configuration
        XML.

    3.  Run and debug your project:

        For guidance, see [Run Your Application in Debug Mode](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-debug-mule-apps#run-debug-mode).

### Import a Project Folder into Anypoint Code Builder

Although it is more common to import a shareable JAR file or to open a project workspace from file
directory, you can also drag a Mule project folder into the Explorer view and open the project in a
VS Code workspace.

Open any valid project folder, including a project from Anypoint Studio (Studio) that’s stored on
your desktop. Alternatively, use the procedure in [Open a Project Folder](#both-open-project-folder)
to open the project from your file directory instead of dragging and dropping the folder into
Anypoint Code Builder.

To import a project folder into Anypoint Code Builder:

1.  Ensure that no project is open.

2.  Navigate to a location for your project folder:

    1.  Open the Command Palette.

        Show me how

        - Use the keyboard shortcuts:

          - Mac: Cmd+Shift+p

          - Windows: Ctrl+Shift+p

        - Select **View** > **Command Palette**.

    2.  Provide this command:

        ```command
        File: Open Folder
        ```

    3.  Navigate to and select a folder for your imported project, such as your home directory or
        any folder _outside_ of a Mule project folder, and then click **Open**.

3.  Drag your project directory from your computer to the Explorer view in VS Code, for example:

    ![Drag project folder to Explorer view](/mulesoft/current/en-us/anypoint-code-builder/_images/int-drag-folder.png)

4.  Select **Copy Folder**.

    If you instead select **Add Folder to Workspace**, you can start over by selecting the project
    in the Explorer, right clicking, and then selecting **Remove Folder from Workspace**. After
    removing, drag and copy the project folder to the Explorer without adding it to a workspace.

5.  If your Mule project folder is closed, [open a workspace](#both-open-project-folder) for the
    project at the project’s _root_ directory.

    In addition to loading the graphical canvas, Anypoint Code Builder also loads dependencies
    defined in the `pom.xml` for the project. If a Mule runtime or Java configuration is missing,
    set the versions to use from the canvas.

    Libraries load to the `target/repositories` directory within the project folder.

6.  If prompted, click **Set Version** to set a supported Mule runtime or Java version in the
    **Project Properties** tab.

7.  Test your project:

    1.  In the open project, check for errors and make sure that the canvas and code editor load
        correctly, which indicates that component dependencies resolved.

    2.  Check for any configurations to modify, such as ports or file paths in the configuration
        XML.

    3.  Run and debug your project:

        For guidance, see [Run Your Application in Debug Mode](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-debug-mule-apps#run-debug-mode).

## Open a Project Folder

Open or reopen a project workspace folder for your application. This procedure works for projects
built in Anypoint Code Builder and for projects stored on your desktop that are built in Anypoint
Studio (Studio).

1.  If your Mule project folder is closed, open the project at its _root_ directory:

    1.  Open the Command Palette.

        Show me how

        - Use the keyboard shortcuts:

          - Mac: Cmd+Shift+p

          - Windows: Ctrl+Shift+p

        - Select **View** > **Command Palette**.

    2.  Provide this command:

        ```command
        File: Open Folder...
        ```

    3.  Navigate to and select the _root_ folder for your project, for example:

        - Integration or Implementation Example

        - Design Project Example

        Example of a root folder and subdirectories of an integration or implementation project in
        Anypoint Code Builder:

        ![Project folder for an integration or implementation project](/mulesoft/current/en-us/anypoint-code-builder/_images/int-open-root.png)

        VS Code treats the root as a workspace, which enables the canvas to load properly.

        Example of the root directory for an API design project in Anypoint Code Builder:

        ![Project folder for a design project](/mulesoft/current/en-us/anypoint-code-builder/_images/int-open-root-design.png)

        The root of a project is the top-level folder that Anypoint Code Builder generates when you
        create a project. Do not navigate to the project root’s parent or ancestor directory or to
        one of its child or descendant directories.

2.  Click a configuration XML file for your project if it doesn’t open automatically.

3.  Click the ![](/mulesoft/current/en-us/anypoint-code-builder/_images/icon-tree-view.png) (**Show Mule graphical mode**) icon in the activity
    bar to open the canvas if it doesn’t open automatically.

4.  To monitor progress as the project loads, open the Output panel.

    Show me how

    - Use the keyboard shortcuts:

      - Mac: Cmd+Shift+u

      - Windows: Ctrl+Shift+u

    - Select **View** > **Output**.

5.  Select **Mule DX Server** from the dropdown list. To see scaffolding errors only, select **Mule
    DX Server: Scaffolding** from the list.

6.  Test your project:

    1.  In the open project, check for errors and make sure that the canvas and code editor load
        correctly, which indicates that component dependencies resolved.

    2.  Check for any configurations to modify, such as ports or file paths in the configuration
        XML.

    3.  Run and debug your project:

        For guidance, see [Run Your Application in Debug Mode](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-debug-mule-apps#run-debug-mode).

## See Also

- [Working with Workspaces](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/start-workspaces)

- [Exporting Mule Projects](https://docs.mulesoft.com/anypoint-code-builder/int-export-mule-project)
