Restrict Synced Sharing Document Membership

Make document access granted through Synced Sharing dynamic by preventing users from joining documents as members when they edit or comment on a document. Enable Restrict Synced Sharing Access to block users from becoming permanent document members regardless of their document activity. Ensure that when a user's Synced Sharing access level changes, so does their document access.

Required Editions

Available in: Lightning Experience
User has access to document via Synced Sharing and edits the document. Then, that user loses access to the record that the document is associated with.
Synced Sharing Access Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Enabled Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Disabled
View Access N/A N/A
Comment, Edit, and Full Access

Loses document access

N/A for Comment Access

Can edit and share the document

N/A for Comment Access

Salesforce Record Access Loses document access Can access and edit the document
User has access to document via Synced Sharing and comments on the document. Then, that user loses access to the record that the document is associated with.
Synced Sharing Access Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Enabled Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Disabled
View Access N/A N/A
Comment, Edit, and Full Access Loses document access Can comment on, edit, and share the document
Salesforce Record Access Loses document access Can access and edit the document
User has access to document via Synced Sharing and views the document. Then, that user loses access to the record that the document is associated with.
Synced Sharing Access Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Enabled Restrict Synced Sharing Access is Disabled
View Access Loses document access Loses document access
Comment, Edit, and Full Access Loses document access Loses document access
Salesforce Record Access Loses document access Loses document access
  • Enable Restrict Synced Sharing Document Access
    Make document access granted through Synced Sharing dynamic. Users who can access a document with Synced Sharing aren’t permanent document members. When their Synced Sharing access level changes, so does their document access.