Remove content from published destinations and make it unavailable for use in CMS channels with manual unpublishing.
Required Editions
| Available in: Lightning Experience |
| Available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions |
| User Permissions Needed | |
|---|---|
| To create, edit, or clone content: | Any CMS workspace contributor role |
| To publish or unpublish content: | A CMS workspace contributor role of content admin or content manager |
| To tag or untag content: |
View Content Taxonomy AND any CMS workspace contributor role |
In a CMS workspace, unpublishing content archives the content item. In an enhanced CMS workspace, unpublishing content returns the content to Draft status.
In both kinds of workspaces, an unpublished content item is unavailable in your channels. The content no longer appears in your site and is unavailable for use in any components in Experience Builder. If the content was used in a CMS Single Item component instead of a collection, the component appears as a blank space or with an error message on your site. If it’s part of a collection, the content no longer appears as part of the collection results.
Assess the impact to your users before unpublishing the content. For the best user experience, remove the component from your site or replace the content before you unpublish it.
The procedure to unpublish content in a CMS workspace is different from the procedure to unpublish content in an enhanced CMS workspace.
- In Lightning Experience, from the App Launcher, open the Digital Experiences app (previously named Salesforce CMS).
- To unpublish content in a CMS workspace, follow these steps.
- Open the CMS workspace.
- To open the content detail page, click the title of the content item.
- Click Unpublish.
- To unpublish content in an enhanced CMS workspace, follow these steps.
- Open the enhanced CMS workspace.
- To open the content detail page, click the content title. Or, to open the CMS content
editor, click
, and then select Edit from the row-level
actions. - Click Unpublish.
- Select translation variants and referenced content to unpublish at the same time.
- Select Unpublish Now.