Share Content Across Enhanced CMS Workspaces

Save time and space when you share content across enhanced CMS workspaces, and reuse content between workspaces without duplicating records. Work with content shared from a source workspace to a target workspace in the Shared with Workspaces folder. After workspaces are shared, you can make copies of a shared content record and save it to a folder in a target enhanced CMS workspace.

Required Editions

Available in: Lightning Experience
Available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
To create a workspace in the Digital Experiences app:

Modify All Data

OR

Create CMS Workspaces and Channels

To delete an enhanced CMS workspace: A CMS workspace contributor role of content admin
To manage workspace details, content, contributors, languages, folders, and channels in a CMS workspace:

A CMS workspace contributor role of content admin

AND

if adding Experience Cloud site channels, Create and Set Up Experiences

To share or unshare an enhanced CMS workspace: A CMS workspace contributor role of content admin or content manager

To share and unshare content created in one workspace (source) to a target workspace, you must be a content admin or content manager in both the source and target workspaces. When you share a workspace, all items in the source workspace, including drafts, are accessible to the target workspace.

To modify and delete shared content, you must be a content admin, content manager, or content author in the source workspace. To publish and unpublish shared content, you must be a content admin or content manager in the source workspace.

When you share a source workspace, its published content becomes available to all channels in the target workspace. Similarly, when you unshare a source workspace with a target workspace, its content items become unavailable in the target workspace and are unpublished. The content is then unavailable to channels in the target workspace and unavailable to other content items in the target workspace that reference it.

Note
Note All the content included in a manual collection must belong to the same source workspace. When you create a manual collection, shared content is hidden from the content picker.
  1. In Lightning Experience, from the App Launcher, open the Digital Experiences app.
  2. On the Digital Experiences Home tab, find the workspace in the All CMS Workspaces table.
  3. To open the enhanced CMS workspace, click the workspace name.
  4. Click Workspace Settings Menu, and then select Workspace Sharing.
  5. Move the target workspace from the Unshared column to the Shared column, and save your changes.
Example
Example

You have three enhanced CMS workspaces in your org, named Space A, Space B, and Space C. You share content from Space A (source) to Space B (target), and from Space B (source) to Space C (target).

When you share Space A to Space B, you can add an image in Space A to a news piece in Space B. When you publish the news article, the image is published, and the news article and image are both available to Space B’s channels. But if you share Space B to Space C before you publish the news article, then publishing the news piece to Space C’s channels doesn’t publish the image. Instead, you must share Space A to Space C, and then publish the image.

To work with shared content, visit the target workspace and open the Shared with Workspaces folder. To see a list of workspaces that use a particular content item, open the Usage Info tab of the content detail page.