---
schema_version: "1"
id: dd998835b0c1e04bfb0a0b46e62539221e7988a63dbea891263e62f2ea7464ad
title: Delete and Undelete Category Groups
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/service/264-0-0/categorygroup_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=service.categorygroup_delete.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 4cdc489ac3f16fa11510195e024647adefc3e715185f17f9645bbe802da319b8
description: Deleting a category group deletes all of its categories and removes all associations between the categories and articles or questions. Read this entire topic carefully to understand the consequences of deleting category groups.
products:
  - Service Cloud
release: "264"
---
# Delete and Undelete Category Groups

Deleting a category group deletes all of its categories and removes all associations between the categories and articles or questions. Read this entire topic carefully to understand the consequences of deleting category groups.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col style="width:100%"></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience. <a href="https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=service.service_editions_reference.htm&amp;language=en_US" target="_blank">View supported editions</a>.</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d111019e59">User Permissions Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d111019e59 ">To view the Data Categories page:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d111019e59 ">View Data Categories in Setup</td>

          </tr>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d111019e59 ">To create, edit, or delete data categories:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d111019e59 ">Manage Data Categories</td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

1. From Setup, enter Data Category in the Quick Find box, then select **Data Category Setup**.
2. Hover your cursor over the category group name.
3. Click the Delete Category Group icon (![Delete Category Group](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-service-support-264-0-0-production-enus/dd14551c-a772-4db6-9a1d-d84df8df2980/support/images/knowledge/knowledge_categorygroup_delete.png)).
4. Select the checkbox in the confirmation dialog, then click **OK**.
    
    The data category group is deleted. Continue to step 5 if you wish to restore the data category group.
5. In the Removed Category Groups section, hover your cursor over the category group name.
6. Click the Undelete Category Group icon (![Undelete Category Group](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-service-support-264-0-0-production-enus/dd14551c-a772-4db6-9a1d-d84df8df2980/support/images/knowledge/knowledge_categorygroup_undelete.png)).
    
    The category group moves to the Category Groups section as an inactive category group, and associations with articles, questions, and visibility are restored.

![Example](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-service-support-264-0-0-production-enus/dd14551c-a772-4db6-9a1d-d84df8df2980/images/icon_example.png)

Example

Deleting a category group:

- Moves it to the Deleted Category Groups section, which is a recycle bin. You can view items in this section but not edit them. It holds category groups for 15 days before they are permanently erased and cannot be recovered. During the 15–day holding period, you can either restore a category group, or permanently erase it immediately.
- Deletes all categories within that group.
- Removes all associations between the group's categories and articles or questions.
- Removes all associations between the group's categories and visibility.
- As applicable, removes the category drop-down menu from the Articles tab in all channels, the Article Management tab, and your company's public knowledge base.