Delete a Data Category

Deleting data categories can result in long processing times, changes to the visibility and categorization of articles and questions, and other significant consequences. Read this entire topic carefully before deleting categories.

Required Editions

Available in Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience. View supported editions.
User Permissions Needed
To view the Data Categories page: View Data Categories in Setup
To create, edit, or delete data categories: Manage Data Categories
Important
Important Modify the category hierarchy when user activity is low. Because the save process involves potentially large and complex recalculations, it can take a long time to complete. During processing, support reps can experience performance issues when searching for articles or questions or using category dropdown lists.
  1. From Setup, enter Data Category in the Quick Find box, then select Data Category Setup.
  2. Click a category group name.
  3. Click a category name. If necessary, click Expand All to display all categories in the category group.
  4. Press DELETE, or choose Delete Category from the Actions drop-down list.
  5. Click OK in the confirmation dialog box.
  6. Choose how you want to reclassify articles associated with the deleted category or the deleted category's children. In all cases, the articles retain their categories from other category groups.
    • Assign the deleted category's parent category.
    • Assign a different category. You can select any other category in this category group.
      Note
      Note The category you select cannot be deleted itself before you save your work.
    • Do not assign the articles a new category in this category group.

Deleting a category:

  • Permanently removes it. It cannot be restored. It never appears in the Recycle Bin.
  • Permanently deletes its child categories.
  • As applicable, removes the category and its children from the Answers, Article Management, and Knowledge tabs in all channels, and your company's public knowledge base.
  • Removes associations between the category and articles or questions. You can reassign articles and questions to another category.
  • Removes its mapping to visibility. Readers lose their visibility to articles and answers associated with the deleted category.