You can now choose whether to keep manual shares when you transfer a record’s ownership. Review the release updates that turn on profile filtering by default and address new sharing recalculation behavior.
- Keep Manual Shares When Transferring Records
Previously, when a record owner changed, Salesforce deleted the manual shares on the record, which can cause users to lose record access. You can now choose whether to retain these manual shares when the record is transferred to a new owner. You control this behavior by using an org-level setting on the Sharing Settings page, which is disabled by default to preserve the prior behavior. - Enable Profile Filtering (Release Update)
To improve the security of your Salesforce org, the Profile Filtering setting is enabled by default. Profile filtering prevents users from viewing profile names other than their own unless they’re assigned the View All Profiles permission. If a user’s role requires them to see all profile names, assign them the View All Profiles permission before this release update is enforced. This update was first available in Summer ’26 and is enforced in Winter ’27. - Update Apex Code and Flows for Changed Sharing Recalculation Behavior (Release Update)
To optimize performance after large-scale updates to groups or roles, Salesforce now performs some sharing recalculations asynchronously. If Apex code and flows require that share records be updated immediately, the code and flows can break when this release update is enforced. Update Apex classes, tests, triggers, and flows that update group membership or roles if they rely on synchronous sharing recalculation. This update was first available in Spring ’26.