---
schema_version: "1"
id: 00d102d14d7f840787623736b72e10ae15516742eb7d183843a635a5d1925fe1
title: Downgrade Experience Cloud Site Users with Community Licenses to Contactless Users
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/platform/264-0-0/users_contactless_users_downgrade_users.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.users_contactless_users_downgrade_users.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 15c21dc04594a8ac1125d902b7bfb4095a01cd3911f322c7500a338261ca7a46
description: You can convert Experience Cloud site users with community licenses to contactless users. By converting site users, you can expand your site without adding to the cost. For example, you can downgrade inactive or unqualified users and then upgrade them to full-featured site users later on. You can downgrade users from Setup and through the API.
products:
  - Security
  - Salesforce Platform
release: "264"
---
# Downgrade Experience Cloud Site Users with Community Licenses to Contactless Users

You can convert Experience Cloud site users with community licenses to contactless users. By converting site users, you can expand your site without adding to the cost. For example, you can downgrade inactive or unqualified users and then upgrade them to full-featured site users later on. You can downgrade users from Setup and through the API.

![Note](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-platform-access-264-0-0-production-enus/a92be132-3cbc-412a-9262-130636120c14/images/icon_note.png)

Note The contactless users feature is available only with the External Identity license, which enables access to the Salesforce Customer Identity product.

Downgrading a site user to a contactless user is a two-step process. You disable the site user and then reactivate the user as a contactless user. When you disable users, Salesforce deactivates them and invalidates their usernames by renaming them. You restore the usernames when you reactivate the users. Reactivated users receive a Welcome New Member email from Salesforce. You can prevent Salesforce from sending welcome emails from Experience Workspaces.

1. On the user’s contact detail page, save the contact’s username.
2. From the action dropdown menu, select **Disable User**.
3. (Optional) Disable welcome emails.
    1. From Experience Workspaces, select **Administration**, and then select **Emails**.
    2. Under Email Templates, deselect **Send welcome email**.
4. From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Users, then select **Users**.
5. Next to the user you’re downgrading, click **Edit**.
6. For user license, select **External Identity**, and then select a customer or partner profile.
7. Select **Active**.
8. Restore the username name by replacing the username with the one you saved.
9. Save your changes.

You can also downgrade users in bulk from the API. If you’re downgrading in bulk, assign the users to a profile. In this example, we’re downgrading a single user.

```
//Disable user	
String uName;
User u = [SELECT Id, UserName FROM User WHERE Id = '005xx009871TQXL'];
u.IsPortalEnabled=false;
uName = u.UserName;
Update u;

//Activate as a contactless user
User u1 = [SELECT Id, UserName, IsActive FROM User WHERE Id = '005xx009871TQXL'];
u1.UserName = 'sarah@mycompany.com'; // Or uName from above
u1.IsActive = true;
Update u1;
```