---
schema_version: "1"
id: 91ab78b82d4976ec3774235ba53ca2ff85d21e3736205d45918ec1da12ea228b
title: Recalculate Sharing Rules Manually
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/platform/264-0-0/security_sharing_recalculating.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_recalculating.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 56a16a8016119c2b92fb992308eb8916db764a5021bf0b47ab5e7aa5ca7eb808
description: When you make changes to sharing settings, groups, roles, and territories, sharing rules are reevaluated to add or remove access as necessary. You can manually recalculate sharing rules if sharing rule updates have failed or aren’t working as expected.
products:
  - Security
  - Salesforce Platform
release: "264"
---
# Recalculate Sharing Rules Manually

When you make changes to sharing settings, groups, roles, and territories, sharing rules are reevaluated to add or remove access as necessary. You can manually recalculate sharing rules if sharing rule updates have failed or aren’t working as expected.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition">
        <colgroup>
          <col>
        </colgroup>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: both Salesforce Classic
              and Lightning
              Experience</td>

          </tr>
          <tr class="">
            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">
              <p>Available in: <strong>Professional</strong>,
                <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>,
                <strong>Unlimited</strong>, and <strong>Developer</strong>
                Editions
              </p>
              <p style="margin-bottom:0;">See <a href="https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_rule_considerations.htm&amp;release=264.0.0&amp;type=5" title="Review these considerations before using sharing rules.">Sharing Rule Considerations</a> for more information on
                availability.</p>
            </td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table> <table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d57657e85">User Permissions Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d57657e85 ">To recalculate sharing rules:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d57657e85 ">Manage Sharing</td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

Sharing rule recalculation occurs automatically after adding or removing individual users from a group, role, or territory, changing which role a particular role reports to, changing which territory a particular territory is subordinate to, or adding or removing a group from within another group.

You can also recalculate sharing rules manually using the Recalculate buttons on the Sharing Rules related lists. Manually recalculate sharing rules only if updates have failed or record access isn’t working as expected. Because recalculating sharing rules can take a while, you only want to initiate a manual recalculation in case of errors.

![Note](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-platform-access-264-0-0-production-enus/a92be132-3cbc-412a-9262-130636120c14/images/icon_note.png)

Note If enabled in your org, you can temporarily defer sharing rule calculations. This feature is useful for large-scale maintenance operations or org realignments planned during low activity periods in your org. After this work is completed, you must resume sharing rule calculations and manually initiate a full sharing rule recalculation to prevent errors. For more information, see [Defer Sharing Calculations](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_defer_sharing_calculations.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Performing a large number of configuration changes can lead to very long sharing rule evaluations or timeouts. To avoid these issues, a Salesforce admin can suspend sharing calculations, specifically for sharing rules and group membership, then resume calculations during an organization's maintenance period.").

To manually recalculate an object’s sharing rules:

1. From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Sharing Settings, and then select **Sharing Settings**.
2. In the Sharing Rules related list for the object you want, click **Recalculate**.
3. If you want to monitor the progress of a recalculation, from Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Background Jobs, and then select **Background Jobs**.

You receive an email notification when the recalculation is completed for all affected objects.

![Note](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-platform-access-264-0-0-production-enus/a92be132-3cbc-412a-9262-130636120c14/images/icon_note.png)

Note The **Recalculate** button is disabled when group membership or sharing rule calculations are deferred.

- **[Automatic Recalculation of Org-Wide Defaults and Sharing Rules](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_recalculating_parallel.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5)**  
    When you update organization-wide defaults or sharing rules, automatic sharing recalculation is processed asynchronously and in parallel.
- **[Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_delete_obsolete_shares.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5)**  
    Obsolete shares are removed asynchronously after groups are deleted or users are deactivated so that admins can perform other operations without waiting for shares to be deleted.
- **[Object-Specific Share Locks](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_object_locks.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5)**  
    When you create, edit, or delete a sharing rule, recalculation runs to update record access in your Salesforce org. This operation can take some time if you have many users and records. The object-specific share locks feature enables you to make changes to a sharing rule for other objects simultaneously, depending on the objects affected by the sharing rules, sharing rule type, and target groups or roles of the affected users.

#### See Also

- [Sharing Rules](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_about_sharing_rules.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Use sharing rules to extend sharing access to users in public groups, roles, or territories. Sharing rules give particular users greater access by making automatic exceptions to your org-wide sharing settings.")
- [Defer Sharing Calculations](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_defer_sharing_calculations.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Performing a large number of configuration changes can lead to very long sharing rule evaluations or timeouts. To avoid these issues, a Salesforce admin can suspend sharing calculations, specifically for sharing rules and group membership, then resume calculations during an organization's maintenance period.")
- [_Monitoring Background Jobs_](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=xcloud.monitoring_background_jobs.htm&type=5&language=en_US)
- [_Designing Record Access for Enterprise Scale_](https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.draes.meta/draes/draes_preface.htm)