---
schema_version: "1"
id: ebe6149a55ac9a92e0a6fd0346ad52337a2fb5fbbc927fce8b3bc275f6f51fb7
title: Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/platform/264-0-0/security_sharing_delete_obsolete_shares.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=platform.security_sharing_delete_obsolete_shares.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: a6bb42970cf06dbc4e1b849085e3278223035147000ccf5df6bd763087812b36
description: Obsolete shares are removed asynchronously after groups are deleted or users are deactivated so that admins can perform other operations without waiting for shares to be deleted.
products:
  - Security
  - Salesforce Platform
release: "264"
---
# Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares

Obsolete shares are removed asynchronously after groups are deleted or users are deactivated so that admins can perform other operations without waiting for shares to be deleted.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>Professional</strong>, <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>, <strong>Unlimited</strong>, and <strong>Developer</strong> Editions</td></tr></tbody></table>

Many sharing operations have an immediate impact on the visibility of records within the system. For example, deleting a group revokes the access granted to that group via sharing rules or manual shares. When deleting a group, the shares to the group become obsolete. Obsolete shares are deleted asynchronously during off-peak hours to minimize wait time during this operation.

Members of these groups lose access to records immediately. Users higher than these members in the role hierarchy also lose access to the records.

- Public groups
- Queues
- Roles
- Territories

When deactivating a user, the user’s manually assigned shares and their team shares are deleted asynchronously. Until the obsolete shares are deleted, users higher in the role hierarchy retain access to the records associated with these shares. If that visibility is a concern, remove the record access granted to the user before deactivating the account. All other user-related share types are deleted immediately when the user is deactivated.