---
schema_version: "1"
id: c64454d9e28bdb01abbb908adb8cd6295967658df8c4cc86ea6083b20b9f40db
title: Permanently Delete Prospects
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/mktg/264-0-0/pardot_admin_prospects_permanently_delete.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=mktg.pardot_admin_prospects_permanently_delete.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: fec3f4ab2d1cd2004286e319f0c888abc0b57613bea33833fd3ce385f12e2115
description: To permanently delete prospects from Account Engagement, go to the recycle bin.
products:
  - Marketing
  - Marketing Cloud Account Engagement
release: "264"
---
# Permanently Delete Prospects

To permanently delete prospects from Account Engagement, go to the recycle bin.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d79446e41">User Permissions Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d79446e41 ">To permanently delete prospects:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d79446e41 ">
              <span>Account Engagement Administrator role</span>
            </td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

Before permanently deleting prospects, keep these considerations in mind.

- When a prospect is permanently deleted, the prospect is deleted from the recycle bin, and Account Engagement doesn’t retain any information about the prospect. There’s no way to tell which prospects have been deleted, and data can’t be restored.
- Associated leads and contacts must be deleted from Salesforce before deleting the prospect.
- When you permanently delete prospects, we remove the associated engagement data. Reports that use live data metrics can be impacted when we delete the engagement data. To get the most recent stats in any report, contact Salesforce Customer Support and ask for a recalculation.
- If the prospect is associated with a person account, all personally identifiable information is removed from the account record.
- Deleting a prospect doesn’t prevent the prospect from being created again. For example, a prospect can submit a form or be re-created manually.

1. Open the recycle bin.
    - In Account Engagement, select **Admin** and then select **Recycle Bin**.
    - In the Lightning app, select **Account Engagement Settings** and then **Recycle Bin**.
2. Click **Prospects**.
3. Select the prospects for deletion.
    - To delete a single prospect, click the gear icon in the Actions column, and select **Permanently Delete**.
    - To permanently delete multiple prospects, select the box next to each prospect you want to delete. Choose **Permanently Delete** from the dropdown menu after the table.

Deletion can take up to 30 days, depending on the number of prospects deleted and how much data is associated with them. You’re notified via email when the process is complete.