---
schema_version: "1"
id: 28b26ceff5b867ebd0576d8704812cddf5aab3b7ce24b6771ae50654a8c0a4fe
title: Deactivate Your Site
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/experience/264-0-0/networks_unpublish.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_unpublish.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: 123b58ff58f184a86379d78b2d8211b6b651bd64cb637f99bc449d0fce2aeef8
description: Deactivate your site when you add or remove members; add, remove, or rearrange tabs; change the color scheme; or change the URL. You also must deactivate a site before you can archive it.
products:
  - Experiences
release: "264"
---
# Deactivate Your Site

Deactivate your site when you add or remove members; add, remove, or rearrange tabs; change the color scheme; or change the URL. You also must deactivate a site before you can archive it.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>, <strong>Unlimited</strong>, and <strong>Developer</strong> Editions</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Applies to: <a href="https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.exp_cloud_basics_glossary.htm&amp;type=5&amp;language=en_US" target="_blank">LWR and Aura sites</a></td></tr></tbody></table>

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d59994e79">User Permissions
              Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d59994e79 ">To create an Experience Cloud site:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d59994e79 ">Create and Set Up Experiences AND View Setup and Configuration</td>

          </tr>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d59994e79 ">To customize or publish an Experience Cloud site:</td>

            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d59994e79 ">
              <ul>
                <li>Create and Set Up Experiences AND View Setup and Configuration AND be a member
                  of the site<p>OR</p>
                </li>

                <li>View Setup and Configuration AND be a member of the site AND have appropriate
                  <a href="https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_access_control_overview.htm&amp;language=en_US" target="_blank">role-based site access</a>
                </li>

              </ul>
            </td>

          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

![Note](https://sf-zdocs-cdn-prod.zoominsoftware.com/tdta-experience-communities-264-0-0-production-enus/bf7df212-91a1-4fa3-a007-4d6f3e3b470b/images/icon_note.png)

Note If a community license is removed from your org, members can still access sites associated with that license. To ensure security, deactivate sites that you wish to discontinue.

To ensure your contributors can access Experience Builder and Workspaces in an inactive community, enable the “Modify All Data” permission.

1. From Setup, enter Digital Experiences in the Quick Find box, then select **All Sites**.
2. Click **Workspaces** next to the site you want to deactivate.
3. Click **Administration** | **Settings**.
4. Click **Deactivate**.
    
    After your site is inactive and offline, only users who have the Create and Set Up Experiences permission can access it. All other users see a Site Under Construction page.

#### See Also

- [Experience Cloud Site Statuses](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_status.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Experience Cloud sites can have one of these statuses: preview, inactive, active, and archived.")
- [Activate Your Site](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_publish.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Activate your site to make it accessible to members. The result of activation differs depending on whether you have a Salesforce Tabs + Visualforce site or a Lightning site.")
- [Customize Salesforce Tabs + Visualforce Sites](https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_customize.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5 "Update basic site settings like your site URL, site name, members, login options, and general preferences in the Administration tile of Experience Workspaces.")