---
schema_version: "1"
id: 6eb5277c4a3370dd3200f6ae1c54748c0c449993b627eb479cdef0364ebe10e8
title: Disable Partner Accounts
collection: admin
version: current
locale: en-us
portal_url: https://docs.salesforce.com/admin/current/en-us/experience/264-0-0/networks_partner_community_disable_accounts.md
canonical_url: https://help.salesforce.com/s/articleView?id=experience.networks_partner_community_disable_accounts.htm&release=264.0.0&type=5
source_site: help.salesforce.com
content_type: documentation
content_hash: ab7cbc8a9e9854dfcfdc0abf8b03e2873353e44810b6395dfe18c8df8e5659ee
description: You can't delete partner accounts, but you can disable them. Disabling a partner account disables partner users associated with the account. We recommend disabling a partner account only if the account was accidentally enabled for site access.
products:
  - Experiences
release: "264"
---
# Disable Partner Accounts

You can't delete partner accounts, but you can disable them. Disabling a partner account disables partner users associated with the account. We recommend disabling a partner account only if the account was accidentally enabled for site access.

### Required Editions

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small edition"><colgroup><col></colgroup><tbody><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience</td></tr><tr class=""><td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;">Available in: <strong>Enterprise</strong>, <strong>Performance</strong>, <strong>Unlimited</strong>, and <strong>Developer</strong> Editions</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table class="slds-table slds-table_bordered slds-max-medium-table_stacked slds-m-bottom_small permission">
        <colgroup>
          <col style="width:50%">
          <col style="width:50%">
        </colgroup>
        <thead class="slds-text-title_caps ">
          <tr class="">
            <th scope="colgroup" class="slds-cell-wrap" colspan="2" style="text-align:center;vertical-align:top;" id="d92773e51">User Permissions Needed</th>
          </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">To view accounts:</td>
            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">Read on accounts</td>
          </tr>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">To create accounts:</td>
            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">Create on accounts</td>
          </tr>
          <tr class="">
            <td data-label="User Permissions Needed" class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">To disable a partner account:</td>
            <td class="slds-cell-wrap" style="vertical-align:top;" headers="d92773e51 ">Manage External Users</td>
          </tr>
        </tbody>
      </table>

If you choose to disable a partner account:

- Up to 15 active and inactive external users associated with the account are permanently disabled. You also remove them from all sites, groups, teams, permission sets, and sharing rules they're associated with.
- If there are more than 15 active or inactive external users associated with an account, you can’t disable it. Disable the users before disabling the account.
- Roles and groups associated with the account are permanently deleted and not moved to the Recycle Bin.

1. Go to the account detail page for the account you want to disable.
2. Click **Manage External Account**, then click **Disable Partner Account**.
3. Click **OK** to confirm.

If you decide to re-enable the account in the future, you can re-enable individual contacts as partner site users. Re-enabling a contact for a partner site creates a partner user record that is not associated with the previous partner user and role. You can't restore deleted roles and groups.