Cart Sharing in B2B Commerce

With the advanced cart management feature, B2B Commerce buyers can share a cart with other people on their account and control what each person can do with the cart. Cart sharing helps teams collaborate on an order and route it for internal approval before anyone buys.

Note
Note To share carts, buyers must have the Customer Community Plus license or a license with a higher level of privileges.

Cart sharing is supported only when all collaborators share the same currency and pricing. Multiple currencies and user-specific pricing aren't supported.

The cart owner is the buyer who creates the cart. Only the owner can share the cart, add or remove collaborators, change a collaborator's permission level, and delete the cart. These actions stay with the owner even sharing the cart. The cart owner assigns one of three permission levels to each collaborator, so reviewers can view carts, contributors can edit the cart, and purchasers can complete the purchase.

  • View Only: View the cart's products, pricing, and activity history. Collaborators with View Only access can't change the cart.
  • Edit: Add and remove items, update quantities, and edit the cart's name and description, in addition to View Only access.
  • Checkout: Complete the purchase, apply promo codes, and select shipping, in addition to Edit access. When a collaborator with checkout access completes a purchase, that collaborator becomes the owner of the resulting order. The order appears in the collaborator's order history, not the cart owner's. The order owner manages cancellations, returns, and reorders. The cart owner sees a cart activity entry that records who checked out the cart. The checkout URL includes the cart ID.

Considerations

  • The shared cart feature is available for buyers with Buyer and Account Switcher permission sets and not the Buyer Manager permission set.
  • While a collaborator proceeds to checkout, the cart is locked for everyone. Other collaborators can see who's checking out and that the cart is temporarily locked. The lock releases automatically when the checkout session expires, after 48 hours. To release the lock early, the collaborator who started checkout can edit the cart or add items to a cart.
  • When a cart owner removes access, the cart no longer appears in the collaborator's cart list.
  • Enable Cart Sharing
    Enable buyers to share carts in your B2B Commerce store from the store settings. Turn on this setting to ensure that buyers can share carts with other collaborators. You can also view shared cart history and track collaborator actions using the Shared Cart Activity component.